I’m frightened…are you?

Obama-4-23-12Facebook is a great social media for sharing and enjoying the posts of others.  Of course there are some users you wish would find another way to utilize their time, but today, I engaged in a conversation about the Affordable Care Act, AKA Obamacare.  While some are singing the praises of a president who provided them insurance despite pre-existing conditions, others are bemoaning the ridiculous co-pays and deductibles they now face.  I’m honestly trying to remember that everyone is entitled to their opinion and keep out of political rants, but I couldn’t help myself..and needed to share my opinion, and it got me thinking.  (If you click the FB link, you’ll be taken to a video everyone should see.)

As a victim of Obamacare, since my previous provider bailed on my retirement system, I was changed to a policy over which I had no choice because I live out of state.  Although my deductibles are not ridiculous… and since the change my spouse and I are both primarily Medicare, we don’t face the problem my son and his family do.  They have a $2500 per person deducible, and the insurance refuses to cover his wife because she is also employed and can provide her own. Of course, the cost is prohibitive and adds a further burden.

Someone has to pay for all those people who didn’t have insurance previously, and guess where the burden lies.  We taxpayers are also footing the bill for all those free phones Obama is giving away for emergency situations.  Of course, the fact that I’ve seen interviews of welfare recipients who have more than one makes me question the validity of the decision, but what really fries me is trying to understand why we’re paying for 250 texting minutes for phones that are to be used in emergencies.  What’s up with that?

The current administration has added so much to the national debt, despite promising to reduce the deficit and maintain transparency.  Transparency, to me, means we should know what’s going on, but do we?  Rumors circulate that Medicare and Social Security funds have been funneled elsewhere despite the fact that employees paid into accounts to sustain them in their senior years.  The rumors, and they continue to be rumors because I’m sure the government doesn’t want to admit thievery, scare me senseless.  My husband and I are totally dependent upon those two funds to sustain us.  We would be screwed if the funds are indeed ready to run out.

I’m totally disappointed in the current administration.  Obama’s campaign promises of transparency and change have both been bold-faced lies.  The changes have been disappointing, if not expensive. and his need to act autonomously leaves the public wondering what’s around the corner. Remember his statement…”I have a pen and a phone?”  Why he hasn’t been impeached is a mystery and how some folks can still praise and find him a supreme leader is beyond my comprehension.  Our future is walking a perilous line.

I only hope the right candidate comes along who cares about the older American public and addresses issues that keep us secure. Wouldn’t it be wonderful  if  Americans disregarded their political affiliation and voted a PERSON not a PARTY? The two party system has divided us and makes us choose a side.  Voting for an Independent is like throwing your vote in the trash because family tradition is at work against anyone who dares stray from making a choice and picking one side of a line that’s been drawn by the Dem/GOP.  There  are too many people who follow Grandpa’s lead instead of taking time to investigate on their own and cast an educated vote.  There shouldn’t be an “aisle” and finger-pointing on both sides.  We should be one party UNITED for the good of America.

Did I say  “hope?”  Actually, I PRAY  for those miracles. We need someone who can restore the respect we’ve lost overseas, someone who isn’t afraid to truly run a transparent administration, and someone who believes in the constitution.  Even more, we need some who believes in closing the borders and having people enter legally to earn the benefits they are getting for free now.  I can’t afford to support thousands of refugee children….can you?  Enough said.

 

 

 

About mizging

I'm a multi-published author, mother of two grown sons and companion and caretaker to a ten-year-old special needs grandson, Spencer. Besides him, writing is my passion and every release has been a special reason to celebrate, but first and foremost, I'm an American, concerned with the direction our country is taking. My opinions are my own and I'm not asking for agreement, simply that people consider the facts presented by me and my web mates.

3 thoughts on “I’m frightened…are you?

  1. I’d love to see a candidate who is interested in what is good for “we the people” for a change. Not the lobbyist, not big business, not just the poor, and on and on and on —

    I also don’t have a real issue with the 2 party system. BUT for it to work, they have to be willing to debate AND work together. The majority don’t seem to understand that no one is going to get everything they want – and seriously, no one should because on one is right all the time. We also way too many politicians who have an all or nothing attitude.

    Imagine the difference if people had worked on health care reform is stages — things could’ve actually been handled one at a time and people could’ve (gasp) thought each step through and done logical things and they could’ve figured out the logistics so it would (gasp) work.

    I watched the John Adams mini series yesterday and they had very heated debates over many things – but at the end of the day, they found ways to work out their differences and some differences were polar opposites.

  2. usawoman says:

    Yes, I am frightened. My husband and I are, also, victims of the ACA, but in a different way. He was an insurance broker, and built up a book of business in the small group health field. That book of business is his only retirement benefit, other than SS. Small businesses are being hit hard by Obamacare. We just had a longtime client close his doors last month because of increased premiums and decreased benefits. Each client we lose, means money taken away from our monthly income.

    I think things are going to get very bad. More and more seniors are going to find their life’s work and savings gone. Then, we’ll find out that our government does not want to give us good medical care. Our care is going to be determined by numbers, not individual need. We have received letters from “a group” “working with Medicare” that wants to accumulate our medical records. Of course, we declined. We have received phone calls from another “group working with Medicare and RiteAid, wanting to accumulate all of our prescription information. Of course, we declined. These are not conspiracy theories, they are happening.

    I’ve been watching the Bill Ayers interview with Meghan Kelly. He flat out says he is not proud to be an American. I think Obama feels the same way. I don’t believe he even likes Americans. He is deliberately trying to punish the American people.

    I didn’t mean to go on a rant! Thanks for your post that gave me the opportunity to get all of this off my chest.

  3. Agreed that it will get much worse – in many ways and the majority of us will be affected. I agree about medical care rationing – but with the government being SO involved in the health care decisions etc – also gives the nanny state a bigger and more plausible excuse to mandate what we can and can’t do, what we can and can’t eat and on and on. Its now spending tax payer money to keep health care going, which means the elite can have way too much leverage and authority to dictate what is “acceptable”.

Leave a Reply

