Obamacare’s Newest Target?

My husband and I have had some serious illnesses/surgeries. When you go through something like being told you have three brain aneurysms on the carotid arteries, you want to be able to get to the very best doctors you can. I’ve lived through that, and thank God, the three surgeries/procedures saved not only my life, but, more importantly, the quality of my life. Bob and I made the hour long drive to get to the best, Dr. Giannota, a Neurosurgeon at USC University Hospital.  (University of Southern California)

We would not have been able to have the security of knowing I was getting the very best care, if we’d had anything other than an Indemnity insurance policy. Unlike an HMO or PPO, with an Indemnity plan you can pick and choose your doctors. YOU can decide what the best plan of action is for you at that time. You are not tied down to a specific “Group.”

My husband has, now, been diagnosed with Parkinson’s Disease. It’s not something that anyone wants to hear, but after going through about five neurologists, we have found the one that we feel is giving Bob the best care. She is at UCI (University of California at Irvine). Again, she would be out-of-network of any Group plan that would be available to us. And, again, it’s about a forty-five minute drive to get to her. That is our choice–and isn’t that what America used to stand  for…freedom to choose?

Over the years, I have learned that, if you can get to a  University doctor, and if your doctor is a “Fellow” at the University, you are getting the top of the line in new procedures. I, personally and for various reasons, have been a patient in UCI, USC University Hospital (not the Community Hospital), and UCLA (University of California, Los Angeles). Thank the dear Lord, I was able to get this care. I DO NOT TAKE IT LIGHTLY.

Is the Indemnity Plan going to be the next casualty on Obama’s hit list for good health care? Is the fact that Bob and I have been willing to pay the 20% rather than a co-pay a bad thing? Is the fact that we were willing to drive the extra mile or so to get the care we wanted a bad thing? According to Obama and the Democrat controlled Senate, I guess that’s just too much freedom and thought work for us. No, they need to take all that brain activity out of our hands. After all, they’re smarter than we are, right? Yeah, just let are brains turn to mush, because the government can handle everything for us!

Something else to think about. Obama and the Democrats like to shout about equality in our country. Has anyone considered that the people who live in high income areas will have access to better care than those who live in poorer areas? That’s what happens when you force people to be in “Groups.”

I don’t know that this will happen, and I’m sure Obama and his minions don’t know, either, but below is the article I found on Patriot Post.

Another ObamaCare insurance policy casualty may be what’s known as fixed benefit or indemnity insurance. People who hold these policies receive a fixed sum of money when they use health care services, and because they’re not tied to a network, these policyholders can visit any doctor they like. And they’re less expensive than the typical insurance policy. Yet new regulations sprouting from ObamaCare would make these plans illegal because they don’t offer the required benefits of the law. That means – you guessed it – another wave of cancellations of plans that people like. There are hundreds of thousands of people on these policies, and enrollment in them has increased thanks to ObamaCare’s spiking premium costs. The poor will be hardest hit.

http://patriotpost.us/posts/25158#post-comment

 

About usawoman

I am a published author with a healthy interest in the direction of our country. I love the USA, and believe in upholding the constitution. I am for term limits; I'm anti big government; and, most definitely, pro-life.

2 thoughts on “Obamacare’s Newest Target?

  1. mizging says:

    Nothing nearly as serious, but I’m finding that since Obamacare started, my new insurance is refusing to cover drugs I’ve been prescribed and taken for years. I’m stuck because there is no generic for some of them. What is the reason? I’m not seeing how having an affordable health care (Yeah, right) can compare with an adquate health care that covers our needs.

  2. usawoman says:

    I’ve been hearing the same thing about meds from a lot of people. If I dwell too much on what the future may hold for seniors, it can be depressing. Can’t let that happen, though, because they probably won’t give us any medication for it. lol

Leave a Reply

