Murder too Close to Home

Melanie PateThis is a very sad post for me to write.  Melanie Pate, my cousin’s daughter, was slain yesterday by her husband.  As you can see from the picture she was a beautiful woman, but you would have to know her personally to see how beautiful she was on the inside.

Melanie was just 42 years old; a mother of two.  Few details are available, yet, but her husband, Todd Pate, 50, called the Hanford Police Dept. to report that he had just killed his wife.  When authorities arrived at the home, they found Mel in the backyard pool, with throat lacerations.  She was pronounced dead at the scene.  Her husband was arrested and booked into the King’s County Jail.  He was charged with criminal homicide.

There had not been prior calls to the home for domestic abuse, so what happened on this day?  Everything is confusing right now.  We only know for sure that a beautiful young woman is no longer with her family.  Her kids have lost their mother, and their father will surely go to prison.  My cousin has lost a daughter, whom she was very close to.  The entire family is in shock.

I just saw Mel in July when I drove up to the Hanford area to attend her aunt’s funeral.  My eyes fill with tears when I think that this vibrant person is gone forever from this earth.  We will see her again in heaven.

A candlelight vigil is planned for Wednesday evening.

http://www.hanfordsentinel.com/hanford-woman-murdered-by-husband/article_9b9c1e6e-141f-11e3-9b74-001a4bcf887a.html

About usawoman

I am a published author with a healthy interest in the direction of our country. I love the USA, and believe in upholding the constitution. I am for term limits; I'm anti big government; and, most definitely, pro-life.

7 thoughts on “Murder too Close to Home

  1. marilynm says:

    Heard about this on the news–so horrible and so sad. My heart and prayers go out to you and your family.

  2. This is such a sad story – my thoughts are with you and your family. These kind of situations are happening much too frequently – and the reverberations are being felt by far too many people. I feel bad for your entire family and definitely her young children.

  3. May God’s peace help you in this time of grief. I pray for their children, for they have lost both parents.

  4. I am so sorry to read this. Please know that although there is nothing I can say to take the grief and sorrow away from all of you, I am so very sorry for your loss. I will keep all of you in my prayers.

    With love and support,
    Amy

  5. usawoman says:

    Thank you for your good wishes and prayers. It helps.

  6. Catherine says:

    I am so sorry to hear this terrible news. My prayers go out to you and your family. May the Lord Bless you and your family and give you peace. I am so sorry for the children. They are the ones who need everyone’s help now and assurances that they are not alone. Bless the children and hug them.

  7. usawoman says:

    Thank you, Catherine. I thank God that I was not the one who had to sit down with Melanie’s 12 year old son and try to explain to him what happened. His sister is older and better able to handle something this horrific. She and my cousin are in the process of getting custody. Tragedies happen, and the “business” of living goes on. Decisions to make! May God give them strength, comfort, and peace.

Leave a Reply

